Reviews

Simon vs the Homo sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

Goodreads page

Rating: star3star3star3star3star3


My thoughts

I knew I would like this book but to be honest my love for it transcends this world. Most of the popular YA contemporaries are formulaic and unrealistic. Hence why I tend to stay away from them, but books like this one make me hopeful for the genre. 

Becky Albertalli tells a captivating story with genuine, believable and relatable characters. 

This story starts with Simon emailing Blue and the story unfolds just as the synopsis tell us but there’s nothing predictable about it, though I figured out who was Blue before it was revealed. Simon, baby, you’re so clueless!!!😅

Simon’s story, his way of thinking, the love for his family and relationship with his friends are interesting, emotional and real. He’s a wonderful narrator, witty, fun and a little naive sometimes. He’s the kind of character I would love to have as a friend, not only in high school but for the rest of my life. It’s weird but I fell in love with him within the first few pages.

I have no idea how difficult it is for a person to come out. In our society heterosexuality is the default, and we put pressure on people with different sexual orientations, we tend to believe they owe us a confession or something but they don’t. No one owes anything to anybody.

I’ve always felt attracted to men but lately, I’ve been questioning my own sexuality and desires, I think that’s part of growing up. Sexuality doesn’t define who we are but it is still an important part of us. And that’s what I like about this novel. Simon wasn’t just gay, no. The author gave him a voice, an essence. I have a feeling he is one of those characters that actually speaks to the author (metaphorically speaking). Yes, he was sort of blackmailed at the beginning but Martin, oh Martin! I was surprised by how much I started to care for him. The dynamic between them was perfect and the more the hanged out together and get to know each other they started to become friends. True, there were a lot of misunderstandings and bad choices but in the end, they figured out a way to deal with the consequences. 

This book is all about character development, even those I didn’t like very much at first ended up pulling at my heart strings. There was a point I wanted Simon to dump Blue but damn, poor Blue was dealing with his own internal struggles. I loved them together. That’s the thing with this book, every character have a life of their own, they have depth even though most of them didn’t have a lot of “screen time”.

For me, this is a hard book to review because I feel I don’t have anything useful to say and I just gush about how much I love it. It’s not over complicated, there’s no intricate plot or world building or a vast cast of characters. It’s just one of those books that tell the story of an everyday normal person, like you and I. It won’t change the world but it will touch the heart of those who read it. It will also make you think and be more tolerant of people who are different than you, and not just their sexuality but their way of thinking as well. It will make you appreciate everything and everyone you have in your life.

I know this is a very popular book but if by any chance you haven’t picked it up, give it a chance.

You won’t regret it.

7bdefbb707806ac233a3246ee839cdb8_decorative-horizontal-line-decorative-line-divider-clipart-free_370-370

Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “Simon vs the Homo sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

