Monthly Wrap Up

January Wrap Up

Things I read:

  • Storm Front by Jim Butcher (Dresden Files #1) Review
  • Giant Days, Vol. 3 by John Allison
  • Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

It was a slow reading month but I’m glad I still manage to read something. Storm Front was a bit of a let down. My expectations were too high and I have a few issues with it. I’ll continue the series, because I’ve heard it gets a lot better. 

Giant Days is one of my favorites on-going graphic novels/comics. Reading every new volume always makes me happy. The characters are relatable, crazy, fun, cute, real. Even if the plot is not as intricate or complicated, it is always engaging and I can’t wait to read the next volume.

Seconds was great. I’m not used to reading standalone graphic novels but this was amazing. I have no idea what it was about going in. But the story was so interesting. It took me a while to get used to the art style but not much; I actually quite liked it by the end. I’m not sure about the ending, but I enjoyed this one a lot. 

books1

1111aaa

TV shows:

At the begining of the year I was in a bit of a reading slump and apparently all I wanted to do was watch anime, particularly shoujo anime. My whole obsession started with Kaichou wa Maid-sama! I loved it. I want to watch it again and again and again. face-heart-eyes

I think I’ll continue watching more anime throughout the year so I’ll better figure out a rating scale for this. Right now all I want to watch is cute, romantic stories. But I also want to start watching Deathnote again, I’ll have to start over since I don’t remember the last episode I watched. 

anime

1111aaa

Movies:

  • X-Men: Apocalypse
  • Sing
  • Arrival

My favorite film in January was Arrival. It was stunning! Sadly I didn’t read the book before watching it, but everything about this film was amazing. It makes you think and try to figure out what the hell is going on through the entire movie. Amy Adams is as great as ever and Jeremy Renner is also amazing in this role. I loved the dynamic between them. It’s emotional, inteligent, thought-provoking, beautiful cinematography. 

I didn’t care for Sing. I love animated films, but this one didn’t do anything for me. 

I put off watching X-Men: Apocalypse for so long. I liked it but it wasn’t my favorite of all the X-Men films. I think there was a lot going on, and some storylines lacked depth/development. I loved Michael Fassbender as Magneto, he is amazing! I think Fox should do a movie about Magneto, just NO more origin stories. There are so many things they could do with the franchise. I can’t wait for more X-Men, though who knows what direction they’ll take. For now, I’m impatiently waiting for Logan and Deadpool 2.

movies1

1111aaa

Podcasts: 

  • Writing Excuses: Season 12 (12.1: Variations on First Person; 12.2: How to Nail Character Voice in First Person)
  • Collider: Movie Talk; Heroes


I’m sorry if you only came for the books but there are other stuff I’m interested in, so I thought it could be interesting to go through all the things I read, listen and watch during the entire month. Some are more interesting than others. 

I’ll be happy to hear what you think of this type of post or if you liked any of the things listed here. Or recommendations! 

I thought about adding favorite singles or music albums, but I don’t remember any favorite from January.



Until the next one. 
Happy reading!
Leave a Reply

