Lists

Series I’m in the middle of…(3)

What can I say? Some of these I initially liked and others were just terrible! 



18798983The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I hate The Wrath and the Dawn.

A lot of people love these books, and I just can’t understand the hype. And I won’t apology for my opinion.

After watching and reading the amazing reviews and the amount of 5 stars ratings this book was getting, I definitely wanted to read it. But my disappointment and anger came within the first two chapters of the novel. The main character is so stupid, I can’t even! There’s also fucking rape in this book and it feels like no one fucking care about it.

Shahrzad married Khalid, because he ordered to kill her best friend (the author never offered enough representation of their friendship to give a DAMN about her “quest” to kill Khalid). After the wedding Khalid visited Shahrzad, because she’s so freaking beautiful he can’t fucking resist her amazingness (and then this horrible act is romanticized by telling the reader that Khalid never had sex with any other of his dead wives…WTF! This is just disgusting.) She didn’t want to be with him. It was very clear on the text, that she didn’t enjoy having sex with him, and had to force herself to separate her mind from her body, while he did what he wanted. But within 2 heartbeats the stupid Shahrzad was already madly in love with Khalid.

I know this is a re-telling and it even does a terrible job at that. Shahrzad’s idea of keeping her life was to tell him stories every night and, I don’t know, make him fall in love with her? Then kill him. Because, you know, VENGEANCE! Though her storytelling was so frustratingly boringShe’s also supposed to be a magnificent archer, so obviously she’d go and presume that ability, letting everyone knew about a skill that could endanger their king. Way to go, Shazzy. Very smart.

God! This is already too long and I already wrote a very long, detailed review about everything I disliked in this novel.

24922638At Peace by Kristen Ashley 

I have no idea why I read this book. I barely remember what it was about. I gave it 2 stars on Goodreads, probably because it was a fast, easy read, entertaining? But it was a bag full of cliché and terrible dialogue between characters. I read book 2 and have no desire to read anything else.

10507293The Selection by Kiera Cast

I listened the audiobooks for book 1, 2 and 3, because the were uploaded in youtube. It was also an easy read and full of angst. I enjoy them enough and they played on the back while I was working. There’s no way I’m reading book 4 and 5.

12382940The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Also listened to the audiobook. All the weird terms got me out of the story. And even though I liked the first book, I’ve lost interest in the rest of the series. I don’t even care for the movies.

20448515Bared to You by Sylvia Day

I read this one out of curiosity. People were saying this one was so much better than Fifty Shades of Grey. But it was also really bad, with slightly less horrendous writing. I discovered, I really hate Romance/Erotica novels. They all use the same stupid tropes.

4374400If I stay by Gayle Forman

This wasn’t that bad. I gave it 3 stars, but to be honest I don’t remember anything about it. Don’t care about the next one.

5821978The Summer I turned pretty by Jenny Han

I read this book in one sitting. It was addicting, but it was a pretty mediocre novel. I liked it, but I’ve heard the other books are really bad and the main character has no growth. She was very immature in this one, and I just don’t care for these characters. There were some good moments, though.

6642402Something About You by Julie James

Another Romance novel. I guess I had a phase. This one was entertaining. It had like a crime subplot and the love to hate trope that I really like, but I don’t remember anything else. And I had enough with just one book.

24920901The Deal by Elle Kennedy 

I read this one as part of a book club. It was a fun, fast read, but it was so predictable. I liked it, but I don’t really care about reading more NA books.

17831614Beautiful Player by Christina Lauren 

This is the third in the series. I initially give it between 2 to 3 stars, but I don’t remember anything about this book.

Not memorable.

345627Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Another super hyped book. This was a huge disappointment. One of the main characters was very annoying sometimes. I don’t remember much of what happened in this book. But I remember Mead’s terrible writing and I don’t want to ever read anything by this author.

41865Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Meh! I don’t strongly hate this one. Probably, because I read this one when I was younger and less critical about the books I read. I think I like it while reading it, but I never felt the need to continue the series. I borrowed the books from a friend, but I just didn’t care about the rest of the story.

15507958Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Here’s the thing. I was really enjoying the book while reading it. There were some choices the author made that bothered me, but I didn’t cared too much. But the use of gang rape as a plot device, infuriates me. And then it was just like nothing happened, because that was in the past. The way will’s disability wasn’t the best representation and we all know how it ended, it was clear from the start. Lou lack of self respect and doing always what her boyfriend wanted was enraging! The more I think about this book, the more I dislike it.

563712Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series by Louise Rennison

I enjoyed the first books. They were fun and silly, but by the fifth installment Georgia was annoying af, self absorbed, immature and selfish little brat. There was no growth no dimension to her character. This was such a waste of my time.

9646229The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice (Books read: Interview with the Vampire #1, The Queen of the Damned #3 and DNF Merrick #7)

I read these so long ago and out of order, because Goodreads didn’t exist. I don’t remember much. I think I’ve past my vampire obsession.

9460487Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Another book club pick. The beginning was boring and not at all what I expected. The last third of the book was exciting, but I’m not invested enough in the story to want to continue.

26582The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by A.N. Roquelaure (aka Anne Rice)

I DNF’d this book within the first few pages. It left me mentally scarred for life. No word can describe how disturbing this book was. I had no idea what I was getting into. I wanted to read more retellings and instead got this huge piece of shit.

How can it be describe as an exploration of sexual desire? (Check the Goodreads description) Who can find sexual desire in humiliation, rape and disrespect? This make me want to vomit.

17259690The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic

Amazon/Goodreads had the audacity to recommend this to me, because I bought and loved The Raven Cycle. It was free on Amazon kindle so I thought ‘what the hell‘ and started reading it. Nope. This has raving reviews as well and I don’t get it. I couldn’t get past 50 pages. So boring and convoluted. Also the sport was absolutely nonsense.

8690638Suns of Virga by Karl Schroeder

Lots of interesting ideas, but poorly executed. Unremarkable characters.

My review.

6953394The Awakening by L.J. Smith

I’m of those people who liked the show and wanted to read the source material. And I shouldn’t have done that. This was terrible. Another DNF.

18403921Introductions by C.L. Stone

That time when I read a lot of books that amazon offered for free. I was so naive. The first book was as the title states, an introduction to all the characters. And there are a lot of them, basically a lot of boys (aka all of them love interest). No thank you. The female lead was so stupidly innocent and helpless. The only character I liked was a guy named Kota, but then this thing got out of control and the story turned incredibly idiotic and overdramatic. I thought this was a cute YA contemporary.  Nope. Also, there are like a million books in this series. WTF?

16056408Easy by Tamara Webber

I read this book in one sitting. I simply couldn’t stop reading it. But I don’t remember anything about it. I remember the girl was victim of harassment or sexual assault (what a surprise! Every New Adult novel use this as plot device) and prince charming to the rescue. Basic. I don’t remember the name of the characters, nor the plot. Sometimes I consider re-reading it, but why waste time on this?

9370793Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

I liked the first 3 books, but I have no interest in reading the last one, sort of companion novel.

This was one of the first dystopian series I read, I’m not sure how I would feel about reading it now.

16101128The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Initially, I gave this book 4 stars, now I lower it to 3. I read this one as part of a book club last year and I’ve already forgotten a lot of the things that happened in the book.

I think I only finish this one, thanks to the audiobook. People who loved this book were disappointed with the next one. The only intelligent thing I could do is avoid it.



This turned out longer than expected.

Do you have any particular series that really dislike? I usually avoid talking about disappointing books or those that I actively hate smiling_devil_emoji, to save myself from intolerant people, but unpopular opinions are always fun to read.

Leave a Reply

