Reviews

Storm Front by Jim Butcher

81dt8awo7pl1

Series: Dresden Files #1

For Harry Dresden, Chicago’s only professional wizard, business, to put it mildly, stinks. So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name.

Goodreads page 

Rating: star3star3star3


My thoughts

I’ve been wanting to start this series for a while and even though I had high hopes for it, I didn’t know what to expect. 

I love Fantasy, but Urban Fantasy is always a hit or miss for me. Some novels in this genre are full of tropes that really get on my nerves, nevertheless I still find some stories fascinating and entertaining.  

Storm Front was a fun read, but a little disappointing. 

Harry Dresden, the main character, is a wizard in a world where non-magic humans are aware of supernatural forces living among them (at least that’s what I think). And he makes a living out of his magical abilities, though his business is not exactly successful. 

One of the things that bothers me a little is the world building. I know this is a first book in a very long series, but some things weren’t fully fleshed out and it was confusing at times. For one thing, people actually believe Dresden can do magic, enough to pay him for his services. He even helps the police solve crimes. Anyway, sometimes it felt as if only people involved in illegal business and Murphy (one of the detectives) actually believe in the role that  supernatural beings play in “the real world”

There’s also mention of a Council of Magic and the problems Harry has had with them, due to his open practice and recklessness. Still, I’m sure a lot of this will be addressed in the next books, but I think a few more pages to help expand the world would have been great. 

The characters weren’t memorable. Harry was funny, likeable and sometimes relatable. But the over sexualization of every female character, the constant mention of their make up and clothes annoyed me so, SO MUCH! Not only that, but the fact that Dresden thought he knew the reasons behind these women’s choice of clothing and behavior was exasperating. I’ve heard this changes in the following books, so I’m hopeful. That’ll definitely make the books more enjoyable. 

The plot is simple, but enthralling. It’s basically a crime/mystery plot. The police finds a couple brutally murdered in a hotel room and the lead detective suspects there’s a supernatural component in these homicides. This is when Dresden gets called as a consultant. I really liked the relationship between Dresden and detective Murphy. I wasn’t very attached to her, but I have a feeling she’s going to kick some ass as the story progresses. And even though Harry thinks every women is flirting with him *eye-rolling*, there wasn’t any real romantic subplot and I really liked that. 

This review is all over the place. Sorry.

Of course, people start suspecting that Dresden, apparently the only wizard in Chicago, is behind these homicides. So he not only has to help the police, but he also has to clear his name and avoid being killed. All of this while trying to do his job as basically private investigator. 

Yes, I gave this three stars, which means I like the book. And I’m planning to continue with the series. 

I listened to the audiobook and I liked it a lot. James Marsters narration was good, but at the beginning his constant gasping was irritating and took me out of the story a few times. But by the end I got used to his style and I’m looking forward to listen to the audiobook version.

One thought on “Storm Front by Jim Butcher

Leave a Reply

