Lists

Series I’m in the middle of…(2)

These are series I’ve started and liked, but I’m not entirely sure if I want to continue/finish.


Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams 

1hitchThe first 3 books were very enjoyable, but if I’m being honest I finished them thanks to the audiobooks. I loved Martin Freeman’s narration, but the story itself though it’s funny it’s not that compelling. And there are a lot of things that don’t make any sense and it’s quite forgettable. I still like Arthur’s character, but I don’t think I like this series enough to continue.

Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown

1langdon Long story short. I liked these books, if I get the audiobooks I’ll probably finish the series.

Sherlock Holmes series by Arthur Conan Doyle

1sherlock I’ll probably read a few more stories about Sherlock, but i doubt I’ll finish all these books. 

The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

1illuThis series is so hyped up in the book community and I find it a bit disappointing. I liked the second half of Illuminae a lot, and the ending was intriguing. However this series is not a priority for me.  

Hercule Poirot series by Agatha Christie

1agathaI’ve only read two books by Christie and they were very entertaining, but there are like 40 book in the Poirot series…so it’ll never happen.

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas 

1throneThis is one of the most popular YA Fantasy series right now. I liked the first book, but it was a weird reading experience. My expectations were too high and I imagined the story differently.

I want to read Crown Midnight with a different mindset and appreciate the story for what it is. I won’t go in with low expectations, because the hype is too real, though I think I have a better idea of the world. Right now I’m in the middle, I don’t love it but I don’t hate it either. I can see the potential of the story, though sometimes I feel like there’s not a clear outline that connects the different subplots in a more cohesive storyline (But what do I know? I need to read it first). Either way, I hope to at least be entertained. 

Don Tilman duology by Graeme Simsion 

1rosieI loved The Rosie Project, but I was happy with it being a standalone novel and then we’ve got a second book. The premise for the second book sounds fine, but I’m not sure I would like it. I think I would prefer to just re-read the first book and imagine the rest. 



I tend to go on a bit of a rant sometimes, but this really helps me figure out how I feel about some books and what I think of this series. 

If for some crazy reason you read up to this point, please let me know if you have any thoughts about these series. 

Thanks and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Series I’m in the middle of…(2)

  1. I’ve only read the first book of the Sherlock Holmes series by Arthur Conan Doyle. I liked it and I do want to read more of it, but I don’t know if I would ever finish that series either.
    Sometimes it’s a good thing to not finish a series, before it goes downhill :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agree! I really prefer when series have stronger books towards the end. I can live if the first books is average/entertaining, but it’s so disappointing when the series goes from good to bad. 😦
      Sherlock Holmes if one those series I’m in no rush to finish, even though I like Holmes and Watson, the stories always lack something (at least for me).

      Like

Leave a Reply

