Lists

Series I’m in the middle of… (1)

I’m taking duologies and trilogies as series. I need to prioritize book series I’m interested in reading and finally let go of those series that just aren’t good enough (in my opinion). 

I have strong feelings towards some series, so don’t take this too seriously. smile

This is going to be a long one, so I’ll have to divide it into three parts.



wanttofinish

  • Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown: The first book has it’s flaws, but I really enjoy the story and I care enough about the characters to continue. I can tell the story will only get better. 

 

  • Wayward Children trilogy by Seanan McGuire: Really liked the first book and I love the ideas, themes and worlds McGuire has created so far (even though I wish it was longer and more developed). I can’t wait for the next book (June 2017).

 

  • Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull (5 books total): I’ve only read the first book and that was enough to know I want to read it and all his other books. I love this world! Another book is coming out this year and it’s supposed to be a sequel series in the same world “Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure”.

 

  • Gamehouse trilogy by Claire North: The first book was intriguing and with a smart plot. I really liked the writing, it was a bit hard to connect with the main character at times, but it was hard not to root for her. It’s one of those books that stays with you long after finishing it and my appreciation for it grows the more I think about it. I can’t wait to see how the author expands the world. 

 

  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (3 books total): I struggled so much with Binti, much of it felt anti-climatic and a little repetitive. However, I still want to give the second book a chance (Home #2)

 

  • Discworld series by Terry Pratchett (41 books total): This seems impossible, but I don’t want to give up. So far I’ve only read 4 books and that was a long time ago. I’ve been wanting to reread The Colour of Magic and start reading it by sub-series

 

  • Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson (6 books out so far): I’ve finally finished the original trilogy and my love for these books is infinite. They’re brilliant. Yes, it has it’s flaws (very few for me), but everything about this series is perfectly executed. Amazing characters, I cared about every single one of them. An intricate, very detailed and developed magic system and on of the best world building I’ve ever read in a book. Can’t wait to start reading Mistborn Era Two this year!

 

  • Elantris by Brandon Sanderson (the next books will come out eventually): People always compare this one with the Mistborn books, and I don’t like it. This book is so different, and so good. I’m not saying it’s better or worse than Mistborn. The tone of Elantris is very different, and though it has a lot of more serious themes, the humor and hopefulness of the characters is contagious. This book makes me happy. It works as a standalone, but you can tell there’s so much history and a lot more to explore in this world. And I’m dying for more. I’m so excited to read The Emperor’s Soul

 

  • The Archived by Victoria Schwab (trilogy?): I loved The Archived and I can’t believe I still haven’t pick up The Unbound. It was an engaging read with great characters, very interesting writing style and really cool world. 

 

  • A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin (7 books total): I’ll keep putting off reading A Dance with Dragons until there’s a date for the next book. *cries helplessly*

 

  • The Kingkiller Chronicle trilogy by Patrick Ruthfuss: He is still writing Doors of Stone and there’s no publication date. I won’t be reading The Wise Man’s Fear anytime soon. 

 

finish

Leave a Reply

