Monthly TBR

January TBR

I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump for the last couple of months, but I’m very excited for this new year and all the amazing books I want to read.

TBR’s usually don’t work for me, but I’m trying to organize my reading time this year, and hopefully get into some sort of schedule.

jan-tbr1

Storm Front (The Dresden Files #1) by Jim Butcher 

Harry Dresden is the best at what he does. Well, technically, he’s the only at what he does, but there’s just one problem. Business, to put it mildly, stinks. So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name. And that’s when things start to get… interesting. Goodreads summary

Sabriel (Abhorsen #1) by Garth Nix 

Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him. Goodreads summary

Rise of the Evening Star (Fablehaven #2) by Brandon Mull

Goodreads summary I really like the first book in the series and I can’t wait to read more about Kendra and Seth’s adventures in Fablehaven.

jan-tbr-2

Six of Crows (Six of Crows) by Leigh Bardugo

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first. Goodreads summary

The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower #1) by Stephen King

Roland Deschain of Gilead, the last Gunslinger. He is a haunting, solitary figure at first, on a mysterious quest through a desolate world that eerily mirrors our own. Pursuing the man in black, an evil being who can bring the dead back to life, Roland is a good man who seems to leave nothing but death in his wake. Goodreads summary



Weekly Reading Goals #1 (January 2nd – 8th)

I first saw this on Paul’s booktube channel (Common Touch of Fantasy), it was really fun to participate as a community and see what everyone else was reading. Setting weekly goals (either page count or time of reading) really help me organize the time I could dedicate to reading during the week, specially busy ones. I’ve also seen Giselle’s videos and they have inspire me to also do it this year. (Check out Giselle’s channel!)

This week I’m going to start slow:

  • Storm Front (Audiobook): listen to at least 4 chapters every day = 352 pages
  • The Gunslinger (Paperback): 100 pages
  • Rise of the Evening Star (Paperback): 100 pages
  • Sabriel (Paperback): 50 pages

Total of pages: 602



I’ve already started Storm Front and it’s pretty good so far. Harry’s a strange character, but I’m warming up to him.

2 thoughts on “January TBR

    1. Thank you! I hope it works for me, because there are a lot of books I want to get to this year 🙂
      I’ve been thinking about which books are at the bottom of my tbr or are low priority, but it’s hard to “rank” them. Have any tips? I remember a bookstagram post you did on this topic and I though was pretty cool!

      Like

Leave a Reply

