Lists

Favorite Reads of 2016

I don’t think I’ll be reading anything else this year, so here is my list of favorite reads of 2016. 

Most of these are Fantasy (no surprise there!) that’s why I decided to ordered them by age group kind of.

Children’s

coraline matilda

These are very different books, but both have interesting views on family and how parent’s behavior affect children. Coraline and Matilda are great characters, it’s easy to relate to them even if you’re an adult. They are innocent, but very smart and they confront difficult situations using their brain. 

I love that these books make you think and I’m sure you’ll get more out of it the more you read it. I’ll definitely be re-reding these in the future. 

Middle Grade

pjo5 fablehaven

I need to read more Middle Grade Adventure/Fantasy next year.

I absolutely loved The Last Olympian, a great conclusion to the series. Yes, I love Percy as a character, but my favorite part is the dynamic between the characters and the friendship developed between them throughout the five books. The final battle was freaking epic as well.

Fablehaven was also amazing. I loved the descriptions of the creatures as well as the different parts of the sanctuary. Seth got on my nerves a couple of times, but he’s a kid and well some kinds are just annoying.  Though I feel like he really grew by the end of the novel. This novel didn’t have a lot of characters, and for the most of the novel we only got to see Kendra and Seth and they were very entertaining and proactive considering the circumstance they were in. I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this series.

Young Adult

raven dream

I could have put all the Raven Cycle books here, but these two were my favorite. I love the characters, the writing, the tone of the story. It was all about friendship and how different people, with different personalities still can become friends and love each other. The plot and the mystery was interesting, but I could read about any mundane activity these characters do. All interactions, conversation they had was amazing. I’m obsessively in love with this series.

Adult

elantris hero

Elantris was by far my favorite read this year. I love this book and its characters so much. The world Sanderson created was fantastic with a very intricate and rich history. Love the history of Elantris and its people. The magic and origin of the seons was very interesting, though not fully explained. As a standalone novel, Elantris is a wonderfully crafted novel, it has a great group of characters, interesting plot and has a lot of depth. What I like about Sanderson’s books is that they always offer more than you see at first. They are great books to read and discuss with friends. 

What can I say about The Hero of Ages? It was brilliant, although I had a few issues with the pacing of the novel. It took me too long to finish this novel and I might be a bit ashamed of that, but not really. It’s been a busy year.

This is one of my favorite series of all time. This series has amazing characters, a cool magic system and the way Sanderson weaved every detailed in the entire story is perfection. 

Short fiction

dragon heart

I didn’t gave these books 5 stars for some reason, but they are really good. I keep telling myself I don’t really like short stories or novellas. I always feel like they need to be longer and more development, but the reality is that they don’t have to give us all the answers and I’m beginning to appreciate short fiction a lot more. These two are very different, but quite dark and whimsical. It has very likeable/relatable characters and it’s

I definitely see myself reading these again and again.

Comics & Graphic novels

chew arrival days

I’ve been loving my slow journey through comics and graphic novels. And these are one of my favorites this year. They have beautiful art, great characters and amazing story. 

flourish4

Honorable mentions:

extra

Overall this was a great reading reading year. I read a few terrible novels, that I really just want to forget they exist. But I also read a lot of wonderful stories that will stay with me for a long time.

Thanks so much for reading and please talk to me in the comments. Have you read any of these books? Or want to share some of your favorite books, I’m always on the look out for more recommendations! 

 

4 thoughts on “Favorite Reads of 2016

  1. I am so happy to see The Hero of Ages and The Raven Cycle on your list. I still need to complete PJO series and so I’m making that a priority in 2017.
    My favourites this year were ACOMAF, anything Hobb and The Gentleman’s Bastards series. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope you enjoy the rest of PJO 🙂
      I have ACOTAR on audio I can’t wait to read it this year. And I really want to read The Lies of Locke Lamora!! That one needs to happen this year. I hope I can get it from the library. (Trying to cut my buying a bit hahahah)

      Like

Leave a Reply

