Lists · Read-a-thon · Reading Challenge

Top 4 Underrated Reads of 2016

day-4

For this one, I choose books with less than 5 000 ratings and 1 000 reviews on Goodreads.


issue_five_cover_ja15_v2_med

Midnight Hour by Mary Robinette Kowal

I’ve been trying to get more into short fiction this year, and even though I’m not very familiar with it, some of the ones I’ve read have been really good. 

I read Midnight Hour as part of the Booktube SFF Awards. Initially, I gave this 3 stars but the story has stayed with me and I’ll read it again at some point.

I didn’t know anything about the story, so it was a bit difficult for me to get into it or know what was going on. But that didn’t last long the characters were very interesting, specially the queen, as we discovered what was happening to the king. After finishing it, I was left with so many questions, but I’ve come to learn that in short stories you usually end up feeling like that. If you’re interested in reading more short fiction, I think this is a very good story and Kowal’s writing is phenomenal. 

25210813-_ss1024_

The Serpent by Claire North

I heard about this novella on Paul’s channel (Common Touch of Fantasy) and I immediately knew I had to pick it up.

This was another book I rated between 3 and 4 stars, but what does that even mean. I really liked this novella. It was entertaining, the plot was intricate and intelligent, some of the characters lacked a bit of development or maybe they really didn’t; I just wanted more, I needed more.

Silver was such an interesting character and we only saw him a couple of times. The main character was smart, something I really appreciate. She was strong in a different way, and even though sometimes she felt a little cold I could totally understand her and even relate to her. You really want her to succeed. This is the first in a trilogy and I need to read the rest in the coming year. 

chew-family-recipes

Chew by John Layman & Rob Guillory

First, I thought this was more popular. It’s so good! I haven’t read tons of comics/graphic novels, but I can honestly say that Chew is in my top 3. Though it may not be for everyone.

I thought I wouldn’t like it, because it’s a bit gross but I love the art style and it fits the story so well. The characters are the best, and the relationship Tony develops with the other characters are incredibly amusing. Some of the abilities are quite silly, but it doesn’t bother me much. 

So far I’ve read up to the 8th volume and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest. There have been a lot of shocking moments in this series. 

71mg9qarw-l

Giant Days by John Allison, Lissa Treiman, Max Sarin, Whitney Cogar

A new favorite.

This follows the story of three friends trying to make it through university and it’s absolutely amazing! So far there are no crazy plot lines nor magic, but it still manages to be interesting, heart warming and relatable. 

I don’t know what else to say, than just please read this. You won’t regret it. 🙂

line-page-divider-clip-art-source-http-www-clker-com-clipart387098-p0dhp2-clipart

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

