Read-a-thon · Reading Challenge

Top 2 YA Debuts of 2016

day-2

Today’s prompt is to choose your top 2 YA debuts of the year, and to be honest I don’t pay too much attention to debut novels in any genre (I kind of wait to see what people are reading and reviewing). Nevertheless, these two books caught my attention.


num1 A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

a-shadow-bright-and-burning-by-jessica-cluess

The description for this book sounds really cool, an interesting twist on the trope of the chosen one. I haven’t read this yet, but I’m afraid it may be too heavy on the romance (I hope not). It’s on my TBR, but not a priority right now.

Goodreads link

num2Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

9780143573906

I have no idea what fish has to do with the story, but I love, love this cover (I need it!face-heart-eyes). From time to time I crave to read a fun, cute romantic story and this may be one of those. I usually prefer to read from a female POV, but I’m open to try something a bit different. I think one of the protagonists have a disability/illness, so I hope this book is respectful and offers good representation. I have high hopes for this one!!!

Goodreads link


I think I’ll start paying more attention to debut novels next year and maybe read one or two. If you’ve read any of these or have any recommendation feel free to talk to me in the comments. 

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Top 2 YA Debuts of 2016

  1. I didn’t even think of Shadow Bright and Burning when I was thinking through my list! It’s a book that caught my attention too when it came out and started gaining traction in the booktube community it seemed.

    I do have to agree with your thoughts on this though – particularly about the fact that it does seem like it’s going to be heavy on the romance side of the story. Don’t get me wrong – I do love a good romance from time to time but I don’t tend to enjoy books that have too heavy of focus on romance when it is not intended to be a romance novel which is the case with this one. It’s nice when the romance ties in or there are hints of it and the evolution of the relationship occurs in tandem with the events of the novel but there has to be a fine balance for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the same way as you. I like romantic subplots, special if it’s a slow burning romance and even more if there’s only one guy (here, the description talks about three different guys!!!) I’ll look more into it before I decide to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

